For Abby…

A few days ago while typing up my last post I started another post but never made it public.  I wasn’t sure if I should.  I have been worried about one of my friends for a while now and today I received some news that just makes you stop doing what you were doing and you realize the fight is over…

“Don’t let go too soon, but don’t hold on too long.”
― Mitch AlbomTuesdays with Morrie

A little background for you: one of my best friends Abby has been in/out of the hospital since July of last year.  As of January she’s been lying in a hospital bed at Mt. Sinai in the ICU.  She initially went in under the assumption it was Lupous and the treatments were not working and she was getting worse.

I was going to start blogging about my day to day life just to keep her up-to-date and when she gets better she could read my posts to find out what she’s missed during her time in the hospital.  I even called it “Hurry up Abby… Abby Ka-dabby”.

Earlier this month she was re-diagnosed with what’s called “Dermatomicosis”  I don’t really know much about this or how to pronounce it but it too is an auto immune disorder similar to Lupous.

Let me tell you a little story…

There’s 5 of us.  We are super great friends that have known each other for ages.  Some of us have known each other longer than others but we all came together for a reason.

That’s Abby in the middle.

I met Abby when I was 17 years old.  She was 16 at the time and she was dating my friend’s cousin whom she later married and had 3 beautiful boys with that are truly amazing young men.  So that means I have known her for a LLLLLOOOOOONNNNGGGG time.  I don’t want to tell you the exact number of years that I have known her for because I don’t want to give away my age :P.

I got to know her soooooo well and I find this amazing… before that day we met X number of years ago, we were strangers.  And now I think of her as a sister and her family as my family and I know she feels the same way about me and my family.  It’s amazing how you can get to know someone so well and share so many awesome moments with and to think there was a time when you didn’t know each other at all.

“Strangers are just family you have yet to come to know.”
― Mitch Albom

But the truth is she won’t get better.  I received a call today to prepare everyone for the worst.  To go and say goodbye to a friend.  In all honesty when I get there I won’t know what to say to her or know if she can hear me.

Sorry about all the Mitch Albom (my favorite author) quotes but I was really hoping to tell her how I came to find Mitch and how he helped me over the past year that was super difficult for me too.  But the one quote that stuck with me is probably what I’m going to say tomorrow when I see her..

“The truth is, once you learn how to die, you learn how to live.”
― Mitch AlbomTuesdays With Morrie

I’m at a loss for words today so I am going to make this short and sweet today.  So on that note, take care and good night folks.

Leave a Reply

